Healing From Church Wounds – The Devil Wears Prada

The Devil Wears Prada

In the last video, I asked you to recall two things God has done in your past. It could be something small from last week or something huge from 20 years ago. The reason we must remember His goodness in our spiritual pain is to get our eyes back on Him. If you are like me, you are looking at what happened to you and how you feel. God is too merciful and loving to have done something amazing in your past just to abandon you now or in the future. Jesus is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. It is very important to remember the wonderful things that He has done for you. Although something painful may have happened to you, that does not change the fact that God loves you and that Jesus died for you!

God never sends us into a battle that He didn’t prepare us to fight. I was angry with God for allowing me to be “blindsided” and deeply wounded. I felt that He sent me into a painful environment knowing what would happen. I felt betrayed and abandoned. When I openly shared with God how I felt, He reminded me of how He WAS there the entire time. He reminded me that He DID warn me and was trying to protect me. I just didn’t realize it at the time.

Not long after I became deeply involved in the church that wounded me, He began to speak to me about my identity in Christ. You can download a free pdf here of scriptures of who we are in Christ.  I didn’t spend time asking Him why He was showing this to me. I took it as information, not as revelation. Information is for your head. Revelation is for your heart. God was trying to transform my heart. He knew that once I was forced to leave the church, my identity would be attacked.

How has your identity been affected since your wounding?

For One,

Lisa

One thought on “Healing From Church Wounds – The Devil Wears Prada

  1. I could write you a thesis on this. The one thing I learnt was that nothing is more important than my relationship with God. It is like the worship song, when all fame is washed away, God remains. I learnt to live off Him, not my church and now that I am too ill to attend regularly, that lesson has paid off in massive dividends. God won’t waste any wounds. He will always use things for good.

    May the Lord bless you.

Leave a comment